RSS

Detour

25 Aug

No, I wasn’t lost.  I just didn’t know where I was – or where I was going.  I have no sense of direction – I mean, on the road.  I hate electronics but the GPS was invented just for me.  I am now able to drive without fear of winding up in tim-buck-two, as the saying goes.  I rely on that voice completely and it has gotten me to where I need to go safely now for a few years.  Life on wheels is good – until – she throws me a curve.

I had dropped my husband off at the boat ramp for his fishing trip and was driving home.  Piece of cake – right ? where I had made a right turn to go to the river I now needed to make a left – easy.  My GPS voice thought so too because she said “turn left” and when I started to make my turn and was alerted by horns blowing I read the sign “No Left Turns”.  OK, I snapped my wheel back in time to continue on straight and avoided an accident.  All was well, right ?  Wrong, because now I was lost – yes, that’s how bad my lack of sense of direction problem is.

Because I was a little shaken up I made several right turns to get out of traffic to park the car and get my bearings.  It felt good to sit there in peace and contemplate my situation and in time I maneuvered myself into the correct street and found my way home.

This is what I learned: Many times I get into a similar predicament in my emotional state.  I panic when something unexpected happens, throwing me into a spin.  When I calmly take stock, sometimes back tracking to the problem and correcting it I can enjoy the rest of the day – but when I keep spinning my wheels in the middle of the traffic I create chaos and things keep going wrong until I loose my way.

I was reminded of the old song by, I think it was Rosemary Clooney,  “Detour, there’s a muddy road ahead.  Detour, paid no mind to what it said”.

Lesson learned, let calm rule my life. 

 
 

One response to “Detour

  1. Marion Turrell

    August 25, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    Yes, I know my wife and you could put her in a box and spin it several times but when it came to letting her out she dose not her direction and is lost. I feel sorry for her and if I try to help she get upset and I have learned to not help unless she ask for it.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
