RSS

Children

27 Jun

So many news flashes about the baby found in the woods along side the road.  It is unbelievable that something like that could happen in this beautiful country of ours.  It is heart breaking to think of what could have happened instead.  My heart bleeds for the mother – what she must have gone through while her  baby was missing.

Now, to the other side of the coin.  How can we possibly criticize her for leaving the child in the car while she gassed up ? Yes, there are those who do blame her.

I think we have carried the protection of children a little too far – to the extreme.  Sure, we, as parents need to be ever watchful – but not to the extent of becoming neurotic.  We can’t live in fear of what could happen around the clock.  What are the chances of a kidnapping happening while you are standing there ?

I grew up in a fear based environment during WWII and know what kind of atmosphere that created for a child.  From the day I was born fear was the predominating factor for all of us – but it was a realistic fear – bombs did fall, fathers were sent to Siberia or the Natzie concentration camps, hand grenades and other war paraphernalia was littering the ground where we played, people (including children) were blown up in our presence, and yes, I lost my father when I was eight never to see him again – but I survived.  As did many others.  But many more did not.  And that is my point – in this world we don’t know what will happen from day to day.  And as much as we would like to protect our children from everything bad, from abuse by the nanny, bullying on the playground or school to job or lifestyle discrimination we are unable to do so.

So, I say: Let’s just live our lives to the best of our capabilities, vote for the leades we believe in, let them do their job after they are in office – and most importantly, be good parents and let others do the same.  Our standards will not always be the same and that’s o.k.

My precious grand daughter and her husband decided the day they married that she would be a stay at home mom and after thirteen years of marriage they have kept their promise to each other and have raised a daughter they can be proud of and, I am sure, will contribute to this country’s benefit.  No, he does not have a six figure income, in fact he has to work two jobs to support them in modest style.  They don’t own a home and drive only one car – but – they are both there for their daughter and keep the love and the discipline consistant.  Maybe that is the key to the whole thing.  Keeping your prioities straight.  I heard  Dr. Laura once tell a listener on her famous radio show that the listener made her career choice when she decided to have a baby – that was her job for the next eighteen years.

Sorry if I stepped on any one’s toe but sometimes we just need to speak out.   

 

5 responses to “Children

  1. Marion Turrell

    June 27, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    Agaithe is correct in every word that she wrote on June 27 on her blog. Thank you Agathe for what I believe.

    Like

     
    • Linda Dyer

      June 29, 2014 at 7:07 pm

      I tried to send you a massage not sure it went through. I just finished your Book! I couldn’t put it down Agatha .Your book left me wanting more which is the sign of a great writer . I live n Grants Pass and take a China Painting class one of the Lady’s in my class shared your book with me. Now, I will return her copy but must go buy more books for myself . I want to send one to My Dear friend Marie in Florida. I have shared my thoughts on the book with her she will grow from having it to read. I will send a copy to a church also in Florida . They have started a library and I send them all good Christian Books I come across. May God Bless your every step. Thank you so much for writing this Book. A friend Linda Dyer

      Like

       
      • Author Agathe Von Kampen

        June 29, 2014 at 11:33 pm

        Hello Linda, Sorry it has taken me so long to respond but I am so new at this c
        omputer work I had to wait for help to learn what to do.
        Glad you were inspired by my book. I am glad I can be of some comfort to others as a result of what I have lived through. Agathe

        Like

         
      • Author Agathe Von Kampen

        July 2, 2014 at 11:16 pm

        Thank You so much Linda for your kind words!
        Please stay in touch and email me anytime!
        agatheturrell35@gmail.com

        I think that would be a blessing to gift my book to your friend. I appreciate your support of my book. I hope you’ll go write a little review from where ever you bought the book.

        It helps to reach more of my readers!

        Happiness & Blessings,
        Agathe 🙂

        Like

         
      • Author Agathe Von Kampen

        July 28, 2014 at 1:50 pm

        so nice to hear from you – would like to meet you. Since you live in Grants Pass that would easily be possible. Why don’t you e-mail me at agatheturrell35@gmail.com. i am still having so much trouble using all the other stuff on the computer – see how long it has taken me to find your comment.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
