RSS

Freedom

23 Jun

Hello and Welcome Friends And Readers,

Yesterday I attended church service on the green. It was a lovely summer day and, as I looked around me I was wondering what was going through people’s minds. I must confess that I often go on what I call my “head trips” during a sermon, (Sorry about that, pastor James), and yes, I can listen to the word and still have my own thoughts – I guess you can call that multitasking. So anyway, I sat there thinking about the beautiful stillness – no planes flying overhead, dropping bombs ( yes, I remember the times when that happened almost daily).
No air raid sirens signaling the approach of the enemy or the ending of an attack, (yes, that was a daily activity too on the front lines of WWII ).
.
No uniformed soldiers patrolling the parameters of the meeting, ready to arrest any one speaking against the communist or Natzie regime, ( and yes, some of my relatives were banned to die in Siberia or concentration camps ). No rows of prisoners bearing the yellow star of ‘David’ as identification being led through the streets as I remember…Just a nice new summer day of peace in America.
.
You can read about it in “The Chocolate Bar” – only shiny American cars passing our little congregation, waving friendly “Hellos”.  My stomach was not cramping from starvation as I contemplated what we would have for our pot luck after the service.

No Fear.

This is freedom – this is America.

I fly the stars and stripes proudly.  Because I am a citizen of the United States of America!

Much Happiness & Blessings To All,
Agathe von Kampen, Author Of “The Chocolate Bar”
http://www.amazon.com/Chocolate-Bar-Agathe-von-Kampen/dp/1624850146

 

5 responses to “Freedom

  1. Boyer Writes

    June 24, 2014 at 11:41 pm

    Thank you for following my blog at Boyer Writes. You have had a difficult, but interesting life. I am glad you have found the peace that you wanted and the kind of man and family that loves you. Blessings. Nancy at Boyer Writes.

    Like

     
    • Author Agathe Von Kampen

      June 29, 2014 at 11:35 pm

      Hi, I am glad you got inspired by reading my book. It comforts me to know that something positive has come out of all the suffering. Agathe

      Like

       
    • Author Agathe Von Kampen

      June 30, 2014 at 2:26 pm

      My pleasure to follow your blog. It’s wonderful. And thank you for your kind words, sometimes the last part of life can be very rewarding!
      Agathe… 🙂

      Like

       
    • Author Agathe Von Kampen

      July 28, 2014 at 1:53 pm

      If you are enjoying my blog why don’t you get the book “The Chocolate Bar” by Agathe von Kampen – I am sure you would find it interesting.

      Like

       
  2. victoriadougherty

    July 3, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    Me, too. And thanks for following me on Cold. 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
