RSS

The rest of the story – Jul 4, 2013

21 Jul

Hi,

So, maybe this little story about my experience when I was approximately 9 to 10 years old will explain two things – the title of my book recently published by TKG and is available on Amazon under the title THE CHOCOLATE Bar by Agathe von Kampen.

First: On page 96 I describe my situation as a child refugee that Hitler immigrated to Germany from Ukraine where I was born to German parents. In the immediate aftermath of WW11, before the new democratic government in the American zone where I, with my brother, mother and grandmother found us, the situation was total chaos – every person for themselves.

My mother was gone most of the time in an attempt to find some sort of assistance, mostly offered by The American Red Cross, and my brother who was around 15-16 years old and was foraging for food, my grandmother and I had the job of holding down the fort in whatever bombed-out train station where we would find some shelter for a few hours at a time.

I was standing outside a train station watching with a protective eye our few belongings tied in an old sheet, waiting for my mother and brother to return when this very young looking American GI walked over to me – my heart skipped a few beats as I expected to be ordered to produce my I.D. papers – would I be arrested? Sent to a concentration camp ? Oh no, I remembered, Americans didn’t use concentration camps or the threat of Siberia as was done in the Ukraine under Stalin’s regime – then what did they use to control people ? Shoot them on the spot, I reasoned, as I watched him reach into his breast pocket. I closed my eyes, ready to die. Eyes open again when I didn’t hear the all familiar gunshot I expected I saw him hold out a very small brown package to me. Unfamiliar with receiving any gifts I just stood there, glued to the spot in my dirty, wet clothes (Yes, in Germany it rains all the time) with the rain dripping off my matted braids. He took out another Hershey bar, unwrapped it and took a bite, motioning for me to do the same.

Now to number 2 of my explanation: It was also the beginning of my addiction – yes, I confess to being a chocoholic – and I blame it all on a young American soldier.

Does this explain the cover? The deserted train station and the sign above – that was my destination: CHOCOLATE.

Please read the book and find out more in my next Blog entry.

Talk to you next week.

P.S. Isn’t it appropriate to write this on Independence day?

 

5 responses to “The rest of the story – Jul 4, 2013

  1. Tina

    July 22, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Wow I can leave a comment now. Love this stuff Aggie you keep it up! This is your thrid book in the making for sure!!!

    Like

     
    • agatheschocolatebar

      July 27, 2013 at 5:47 pm

      Hi Tina – this is getting so exiting, I received a comment from another author.

      Like

       
  2. Author Catherine Townsend-Lyon

    July 27, 2013 at 2:40 am

    Hello Agathe,
    Just wanted to say Hi, and Welcome you to the TKG Family of New Author! I’m helping Steve do some of ALL our Media Marketing, SO….I’m following you and would love to do a *Author Spotlight* on my other Book Blog at: http://www.simplesite.com/CatherineLyonAddictedToDimes & my Recovery Blog here at WP at: http://catherinelyonaddictedtodimes.wordpress.com Let me know what I can help you with to help promote your book 🙂 🙂 *Author, Catherine Lyon*

    Like

     
    • agatheschocolatebar

      July 27, 2013 at 5:47 pm

      Hi Catherine,
      So nice to meet you and exiting to see that people are reading my blog. Let me know what you think of today’s entry – I plan to post one every Saturday.

      Like

       
      • Author Catherine Townsend-Lyon

        July 27, 2013 at 6:30 pm

        I sure will!! Let me know how I can help YOU too! I want to get your Book out to others who will Enjoy it! Can you email me any Links you have so I can help you?? tomcatt59@yahoo.com Catherine 🙂

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
